The Haudenschild Collection

text 1

The Haudenschild Collection began in the early 1990s with a focus on emerging artists. It includes artworks from the Americas, Europe and Asia; the Latin American collection, in particular, began due in a large part to Eloisa Haudenschild's involvement with inSite, an initiative focused on commissioning artists to undertake new public projects (from 1992-2007 in the San Diego/Tijuana border region, and from 2011-2018 in Mexico City). Dialogs with curators and artists participating in  inSite  were among the first haudenschildGarage events. As inSite’s President for over twenty years, Eloisa continues to work closely with significant Latin American curators and artists.

In the late 1990s, Eloisa began traveling to China where she forged friendships with young Chinese contemporary curators and artists, and began collecting their work. 

Art from the Americas, Europe and Asia

text 1

A selection of artists in the Haudenschild Collection include: Eduardo Basualdo, Eduardo Abaroa, Vito Acconci, Francis Alys, Carlos Amorales, Jose Bedia, Ernesto Bertani, Louise Bourgeois, Tania Candiani, Raul Cardenas, Christo and Jean-Claude, Chuck Close, Eduardo Costa (Cadu), Jordan Crandall, Roman de Salvo, Gonzalo Diaz, Marina Dimitriu, Leandro Erlich, Helen Escobedo, Manny Farber, Vernon Fisher, Gabriela Gabelich, Tomas Ghiorzo, Thomas Glassford, Maurycy Gomulicki, Antony Gormley, Johan Grimonprez, Silvia Gruner, Kristján Gudmundsson, Sigurdur Gudmundsson, Yolanda Gutiérrez, James Hayward, Alfredo Jaar, Enrique Jezik, KAREN, Nina Katchadourian, Edward and Nancy Kienholz, Ragnar Kjartansson, Guillermo Kuitca, Charles Long, Marcos Lopez, Joao Louro, Jean Lowe, Ken Lum, Jorge Macchi, Liz Magor, Aida Makoto, Alain Marcus, Megan McLarney, Erick Meyenberg, Aernout Mik,  Mariano Mio, Yasumasa Morimura, Tony Orsler, Ruben Ortiz Torres, Cecile Perret, Marcos Ramirez ERRE, Samanta Rched, David Reed, Barbara Renati, Rosángela Rennó, RES, Miguel Rio Branco, Daniela Rossell, Alessandra Sanguinetti, Tomas Saraceno, Lincoln Schatz, Allan Sekula, Lorna Simpson, Sivalax, Melanie Smith, Valeska Soares, Alejandro Sordi, Gabriele Stellbaum, Lisa Tan, George Trakas, Pablo Vargas Lugo, Zlatan Vukosavljevic, Yukinori Yanagi, Judi Werthein, and Krystof Wodiczko. Graffiti artists include Mario Ybarra Jr, Germs, Neo, Retna, Sherm, Spew, Zender and poet Karla Diaz.

Art from China

text 1

From 2002-2005, several versions of Zooming into Focus: Contemporary Chinese Photography and Video from the Haudenschild Collection, traveled to five cities in the U.S., Mexico, China (Shanghai and Beijing) and Singapore. Zooming into Focus was the first exhibition of its kind in San Diego and Singapore, and the first contemporary Chinese photography exhibition at the Centro Cultural Tijuana, Mexico. It was the first time the Shanghai Art Museum exhibited works of contemporary Chinese video and photography from a private collection, and perhaps significantly, it was the first retrospective exhibition of Chinese photography and video ever held at the National Art Museum of China, Beijing. Two symposia (San Diego, California and Hangzhou, China) and artists’ residencies at the haudenschildGarage introduced numerous young Chinese artists to the U.S. for the first time. A comprehensive catalog of Zooming into Focus exhibitions and symposia was published in 2005.

In 2018, the Haudenschild family decided to donate the entire collection of Chinese contemporary photography and video to the Hammmer Museum at UCLA in Los Angeles. It is hoped that through the Hammer, the collection will be made available not only for exhibition, but also for research by scholars and others interested in this formative decade in contemporary Chinese art.

Chinese artists in the Haudenschild Collection include: Cao Fei, Chen Shaoxiong, Feng Mengbo, Geng Jianyi, Gu Dexin, Hai Bo, Hong Hao, Hu Jieming, Kan Xuan, Liu Wei, Lu Chunsheng, Shi Yong, Song Tao, Tang Maohong, Wang Jin, Wang Youshen, Weng Fen, Xiang Liqing, Xu Zhen, Yang Fudong, Yang Jiechang, Yang Yong, Yang Zhenzhong, Yu Youhan, Zhao Bandi, Zhao Nengzhi, Zheng Guogu, Zhou Tiehai, and Zhu Jia.

For more information on Zooming into Focus, visit the Exhibitions page.

Back To Top